Reviews

Oh Susannah Charters is rated as excellent on Tripadvisor. Read reviews here

Thanks Ted for everything! This has been a highlight of our trip – your knowledge and expertise is amazing. We have loved every minute and are so glad to have stumbled across you. We will certainly do this again – maybe Greece! You are an amazing young man and wish you well.

Collen and Nick September 2018

Idyllic adventures with superb company, sun, sea and extraordinary atmospheres. At times almost unbearably romantic and always life affirming. We will return…

Marielle and Paul September 2018

Wow wow wow! The most amazing experience – life changing – life enhancing. The only way to do the Amalfi Coast. Thanks Ted for taking care of us and ensuring our holiday was truly special! Keep in touch! See you again xxx

Jenny and Mark, August 2018

What an amazing experience on the Amalfi Coast. We got to eat and see places we would never have known about. We loved Ted’s company and will miss him when we go home. Fantastic swimming and snorkelling. Ted’s pasta dishes were something to remember too. All the very best and lots of love.

Nicola and Mick June 2018

What a fantastic way to see the Amalfi Coast. Thanks to Ted for being a brilliant host and for making our holiday fun and one to remember.

Tereska and Ben June 2018

Thanks to Ted for an unbelievable week onboard on Oh Susannah. No greater way to see the Amalfi Coast than with the most gracious of hosts. We will be back! Thank you Ted !

Neil and Jess June 2018

As our trip is sadly coming to a close, we wanted to take a moment to let you know what a fantastic time we had. You have been the best Captain we could have ever wanted! You always went above and beyond to make us comfortable, you were absolutely amazing with our grandsons. It is not easy having a 6 year old and a 9 year old shadowing you everywhere, but you managed to make them feel like your first mates and best friends. Your handling of every situation with ease, including the Lagoon 450 in the Atlantic ocean and in port, made us all feel totally safe and secure. You truly made our vacation the best we could hope for and we will always consider you our friend!! You will be missed!! If you are ever in NY, please come and visit.

Karen and Mark Antigua April 2018

Thankyou Ted for showing us the picturesque Amalfi Coast onboard the beautiful Oh Susannah. It’s been an amazing experience and one we will never forget. We have loved sharing this adventure with you and truly hope to see you again. All our love to %therealcaptainted

Sara, Alex, Jaynee and Richy July  2018

What can I say?! AMAZING experience (it was definitely stress free sailing, even travelling with our 6 and 9 year old boys!) Ted was the perfect host … he really took care of us both during our stay and by offering us lots of advice on our Italy trip before and after the Amalfi, like places to visit, booking our transfers etc. Our boys had a great time, Ted was very happy to snorkel with them (even with the water being a bit chilly lol), explore the caves in the smaller boat, and they also tried a spot of fishing… We have already recommended our friends and work colleagues and hope to be back ourselves one day 🙂

Julie October 2017

Just back from a fantastic 4 day sailing trip with Ted onboard Oh Susannah …great sailing, beautiful coastline and topped off by the incredible experience of having a sperm whale swim with the boat as we sailed to Amalfi. Ted is a brilliant, relaxed host and knows all the best anchorages, spots for swimming and snorkeling, and great places to eat. He looked after us so well .. thank you so much Ted, can’t wait to come back next year with the children. Happy sailing x

Meg October 2017

Oh Susannah Charters gives you a taste of the REAL Amalfi coast! From the moment you board, Captain Ted is on hand to offer a bespoke itinerary suited to you. From secluded coves, tiny local restaurants, private islands, onboard lunches, snorkelling and sea swimming to the chic streets of Positano and Capri – there’s something for everyone. Whether you want to sit back and relax whilst Ted does all the hard work, or, like me, you fancy getting stuck in to the sailing, the choice is yours.

I really can’t recommend this way of experiencing the Amalfi enough. I’ll be back in 2018 for sure.

Russell and Fiona September 2017

Ted is one of the nicest guys you could meet. He made are trip, taking us to all the best places, and he made sailing really fun. He’s is a very relaxed but clearly experienced captain, and always made you feel at ease. We managed to get some pretty fun sailing in too.

Ted your a legend, look forward to next year capo!

Rupert September 2017

My wife and I had the most amazing 5 days on board Oh Susannah. We met Ted, a charming and educated Englishman with a passion for sailing and a love of Italy, in Salerno and set sail along the Amalfi Coast visiting Amalfi, Positano, Triani, Gilli Islands, and more. The boat was more than spacious for the three of us, and the view and weather was incredible. It really was a once in a lifetime trip. From Aperol Spritz at sundowners, to fresh healthy Italian food on the deck, it couldn’t have been more perfect. Ted is a very accomplished sailor and has had his boat in this stretch of Italy for a number of years, so knows the area well, as well as all the local restaurants, bars and hotspots (if you want that). Thank you Ted. We will be back. All the best M&V

Mike and Valentina September 2017

What a unique opportunity to see the Amalfi Coast by boat, enjoy the restaurants and shops in the towns, snorkel near islands, swim at secluded beaches, explore caves and learn about Italy from the captain and skipper! Ted was an excellent host outlining an itinerary and giving us options through our stay on the boat. We also enjoyed amazing food (request Fabian’s brushetta and Ted’s gnocchi) and felt very comfortable and welcome by our hosts! We highly recommend Oh Susannah!

Katheryn August 2017

Ted was a great host who went out of his way to make our trip to the Amalfi coast a wonderful experience. Great views, good food, and enjoyable conversations. Would gladly do another trip.

Justin August 2017

‘Best holiday we’ve had together’

This was such a breathtaking trip. We’ve never been on a sailboat together (me and my two friends), and it was wonderful. It is so relaxing and different to our usual holidays. Ted and Fabian were an amazing crew and always made us feel like the sky’s the limit.

If we wanted to stop and swim, no problem. If we wanted to go out and stroll back in at 3am, no problem. We ate, drank, laughed, and genuinely had the BEST time.

The location: STUNNING! When you wake up in the morning you’ll feel like you are in a dream. The water and the coastline are shockingly beautiful. The water is clear, clean, and the perfect temperature.

BOOK THIS NOW!!! You will not regret it.

Peter August 2017

I sailed with a friend up from Salerno to Amalfi and then Positano. Stunning coast line and lovely little towns to explore along the way. The captain Ted recommended some great local restaurants and looked after us v.well throuhout. The food was amazing. Awesome trip – highly recommended all in all. Probably my new favourite part of Italy!

Ben July 2017

‘Family Sailing Fun’

This was a fun way to see the Amalfi Coast, aboard a sailboat. Just the right speed to take it all in. Ted, our Captain, was wonderful. He let you do as much, or as little of the sailing as you wanted. Members of my family just wanted to sit back and enjoy the view. I on the other hand wanted to help crew and Ted was fine with that. He explained all of the instrumentation, the GPS, electronic mapping screen, wind speed indicators and motor controls, and handed over the helm to me. Great fun.

The boat is in great shape and very well kept and clean. Ted was very relaxed about how we used his boat and encouraged us to just think of it as our home. In some ports we dropped anchor. In some we tied up to a mooring ball. In all cases Ted either made arrangements for boats to take us ashore or took us himself using his tender. 

Ted gave us lots of options and recommendations for what to see and what to eat. We had some of our meals on the boat and several on shore as we explored the coastal towns. Ted’s restaurant recommendations were great. 

This was a great experience and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a unique was to explore the Amalfi Coast.

Howe Family July 2017

‘Dream holiday on the Amalfi Coast’

We booked a three day trip as a birthday gift for our friend. He was blown away and told us it was the best birthday he’s ever had. The views, the air, the water, and the locations were mind-blowing. Ted and Fabian were the PERFECT hosts. Everything was effortless. They went go out of their way to make our trip amazing. I honestly would have paid more for such a breathtaking holiday. This is one of those rare times in life where you feel like you’ve found a little secret paradise.

Katie July 2017

Ted was a great host who went out of his way to make our trip to the Amalfi coast a wonderful experience. Great views, good food, and enjoyable conversations. Would gladly do another trip.

Justin and Jamie June  2017

Best way to see Amalfi Coast! I had the most memorable time aboard Oh Susannah. I stayed on the yacht for 2 nights and we spent 2 full days sailing. I had never sailed before but had been on plenty of boats. This was such an amazing way to start my trip along the coast. Hands down, the only way to see the region’s magnificent beauty is by boat, and Oh Susannah is perfect. I travelled alone so it was just me and the skipper but there was plenty of space for more people. Really clean and well kept cabins, plenty of space to lounge around. I learned some basics of sailing over the 2 days and now I’m hooked! I can’t wait to go back aboard! My host and skipper, Ted, is welcoming, friendly and very responsive. We had been in contact for a month prior to my trip and he had made the whole experience getting there incredibly easy. He even arranged taxi pick up and drop offs for me. He’s incredibly easy going. We would sail around for a while, drop anchor and jump in the water. Plus side, he’s English but speaks Italian which helps a lot! Such an amazing trip and stay aboard Oh Susannah was the best part about it. Thanks for everything! Cannot wait to sail again with Ted!

Maggie June 2017

My boyfriend and I finished our week on the Amalfi Coast with two nights on Ted’s boat. We had too much fun it was the perfect way to end the trip. Wish we could’ve stayed a bit longer yet we will for sure be back and sending friends Ted’s way. Ted covered a lot of ground with us and gave us amazing recommendations for food. It was great to have him on board guiding us and we felt that we could hang out with him and have privacy as well as needed. The space is huge and very comfortable. Hoping to be back sooner rather than later!!

Jess June 2017

Our trip to the Aeolian islands was one of the most incredible trips I’ve ever been on. The boat was spacious and comfortable, even after a week at sea! Ted was a very confident and relaxed skipper. He looked after our every need and taught us the basics well so we operated a decent crew within days. He took us from island to island knowing all the best spots to drop anchor for an afternoon of adventures or a fun evening on shore. We were lucky enough to see erupting volcanoes, shooting stars, phosphorous plankton and playful dolphins but to name a few amazing experiences we shared. He always knew a good spot for a bite to eat, the best place for coffee or a quiet beach to rest up. I can’t recommend him enough, I’ve been telling everyone about our trip for the last 7 months!

Joe, Aeolian Islands September 2016

“We spent a relaxing few days on board Oh Susannah – anchoring for lazy lunches in idyllic settings, stopping by different harbours overnight for dinners, and learning some sailing.  Ted was a great skipper and the yacht is spacious and  very comfortable – he made us feel very at home, had good local knowledge and was fun but not obtrusive company.  We will definitely be back!”

Toby and Liz, Cilento July 2016

“Thank you for a fantastic few days onboard Oh Susannah! Your mastery of the boat was impressive, and your knowledge of  some less well-known locations opened up a whole new area of Italy that we never knew existed. The time on board was comfortable and very relaxing. We would return in a heartbeat!”

Catherine and Tom, Aeolian Islands September 2016

“We know this area well, but Ted and Fabian took us to places we’d not seen before.  They were perfect guides – well informed and well organised.  We loved our stay on board which has only deepened our love for this very special place.  We enjoyed learning to sail – truly the perfect way to relax.  We recommend a sailing trip on Oh Susannah highly, and will definitely be back!”

Raffaele and Leonora, Amalfi Coast 2015